Wednesday, January 12, 2011

Module 1

My name is Rachel Cobeaga. I currently live in West Point, UT and work at the University Hospital in SLC. I moved to Utah approximately three years ago due to my husband being stationed at Hill AFB. I obtained a Bachelor's of Science degree in Nursing from Wayne State University. Throughout my undergraduate education, I worked in a cardiothoracic ICU as a student nurse (also obtained experience in medical/neuro/surgical ICU's). I absolutely loved working in the ICU, but have always known that my specialty area would be within the neonatal intensive care unit (NICU). Upon graduating, I moved to Utah and began working in the newborn ICU at the University of Utah.

I absolutely love my job and would not change it for anything! I work with extremely low birth weight infants to those that are post-term (23-40+ weeks). It is extremely challenging at times, but the job is rewarding to say the least! As stated above, I have always known this was going to be my specialty area. Upon beginning my undergraduate education, I decided that I would continue my education. That is where I am today! My area of interest is Neonatal Nurse Practitioning, and I am currently in my second semester of graduate school (BS-DNP).

The most recent developments in technology in my work area (NICU) is the implementation of electronic medical records. When working in Detroit, MI, we began electronic medical records. Upon moving to Utah, the University began using electronic charting. I was a bit ahead of the game since it was the same system that was used back home, therefore I was able to assist others in computer issues. Due to technical issues, implementation of specific areas, such as orders, did not go live until last year. To date, all orders and charting are completed through electronic medical records.

Within the last 6 months, our unit has obtained new and improved monitoring systems. Before installment of the monitors, we were required to attend an in-service to learn the "ins-and-outs" of the electronic systems.

A bit more about me... I am the youngest of two (17 months difference between sister). I have three stepbrothers and one stepsister. My father and step-mother live in Arizona and my mother and stepfather live in Michigan. Most of my family is in Michigan and Indiana, which is very difficult at times. I miss my family dearly! My husband, Paul, and I met four years ago while visiting a high school friend in Hawaii. We spent five days together, and it was truly "love at first sight!" We did the whole long distance relationship for a year and a half before I moved to Utah. We wed in March and he deployed for 7 months a month later! Upon returning, I found out that I was accepted to graduate school and he decided that he would stay in the Air Force and take on his next assignment. Unfortunately, we moved him to Las Vegas in August, and we have been separated since. Fortunately, we live 500 miles away, which is better than a 10 hour flight! We are able to see each other approximately once or twice a month for about 5 days at a time. It is difficult, but we have been through it before, and it is basically "what we do!" You have to love the benefits of the military! Our babies are our three dogs. They our are pride and joy, and we love them unconditionally!

I am looking forward to the blogging throughout the semester, for I have never taken part in the process. I have observed and followed some of the children that I have taken care of in the past, which is always a joy to watch them and their families grow!

1 comment:

  1. Excellent work Rachel, your passion is showing and I share your love for caring for the little ones, I work at PCMC. Thank you for your wonderful introduction and I am looking forward to reading about your experiences and thoughts.